Here at Experience Porthcawl for Share A Story Month, we’re sharing some of the most interesting and memorable tales we’ve heard about past life our coastal town.
Then: Built in 1832, the Grade 2 listed Jennings Building is widely regarded as one of the few remaining early dockside warehouse buildings from its era in South Wales. It was originally constructed as the southern terminus of the Dyffryn Llynfi Porthcawl horse-drawn tram road, which was used to transport iron and coal from the Llynfi Valley. The name came about in 1911 when it was occupied by the timber importers; Jennings and Co and later as an indoor skate park.
Now: As part of the fabric of Porthcawl’s history, the building is now be utilised by Double Zero Pizza, Coffi Co and Harbour Bar and Kitchen; giving the residents and visitors of Porthcawl a host of new hotspots. This regeneration of Jennings Building into a cultural hub has been very successful, offering everything from locally sourced food and drink to music and entertainment.
Then: Cosy Corner was as an outdoor cinema in the early 1900s before later being demolished.
Now: A multi-million pound maritime centre, Harbour Quarter Porthcawl, is currently being constructed on this land. The centre is set to transform the town’s attractions providing a 21st century coastal science and discovery centre as well as a three-star hotel that can sleep up to 55, a restaurant offering European fusion food, a cafe, tapas bar, roof terrace, micro-brewery and 15m leisure pool. The name lives on the form of contemporary cafe bar Cosy Corner Lounge.
Keep checking back as we’ll be updating this post with other historic buildings, starting with Porthcawl Dock. Let us know if there’s any other significant buildings worth mentioning or stories worth sharing, you can find us on Facebook or Twitter.