Saint John the Baptist

Church Street
CF36 5PD
Website: https://parishofporthcawl.org
Tel: 01656 786899

Food & Drink




We don’t know when Saint John’s Church was built, but we do know that there was a priest here in 1189. His name was Glou and he was witness to a charter setting up the ‘novam villam’ or new town, ‘y drenewydd yn notais’, the New Town in Nottage, a small port.  Glou is the last priest we know anything of until 1400. However, by 1330 the two parishes of Newton and Nottage had been united and the earlier, Saxon, church at Nottage abandoned.

There were three manors in the parish – Pembroke, Herbert and Lougher – and they presented the rector, or parish priest, in turn until the church was ‘disestablished’ in 1921 and the gift of patronage ceased.

Free Admission.

Ogmore Castle

Ogmore, St Brides Major
Vale of Glamorgan
CF32 0QP
Website: cadw.gov.wales
E-mail: cadw@gov.wales
Tel:  01443 336000

Food & Drink



Substantial remains of a Norman stone-built castle, raised by the de Londres family. The initial earthwork castle was established by William de Londres, soon after 1100.

Idyllically situated beside the river Ewenny, the joining point of two major Welsh counties of Bridgend and the Vale of Glamorgan, the castle was built to guard a strategic fording point.

You can still cross the river via the stepping stones at low tide, but take care as the tide changes quickly and you might get stranded on the wrong side. there is a pathway that leads from the stones to Merthyr Mawr village and sand dunes.

Ewenny Priory

CF35 5BW
Website: cadw.gov.wales
Tel: 01443 336000

Food & Drink

Interior of the church
Ewenny Priory (CD26)


Ewenny Priory, in Ewenny in the Vale of Glamorgan, was a monastery of the Benedictine order, founded in the 12th century.

The building was unusual in having military-style defences. Following the Dissolution of the Monasteries, the priory, like many of its kind, was converted into a private house. However, the priory church is still in use, and restoration work has recently been carried out by Cadw.

Free Admission.

Candleston Castle

Merthyr Mawr Sand Dunes
Merthyr Mawr
CF32 0LS
Tel: 01656 786639
E-mail: tourism@bridgend.gov.uk

Food & Drink


Surrounded by the huge sand dune system of Merthyr Mawr warren, you can still visit the remains of Candleston Castle, once a 14th century fortified manor house.

Ewenny Pottery

Ewenny Road
CF35 5AP

Food & Drink



Ewenny Pottery is unique. It is a small pottery that has been in the same family - the Jenkins family - for at least eight generations. It is history in the making, the potters craft passed down from generation to generation. They continue that tradition today making beautiful hand thrown glazed earthenware pottery for use in the home.

Ewenny Pottery welcomes visitors from near and far and the Jenkins family can be viewed practising their craft in the workshop whilst the finished wares are available to purchase in the gift shop.

Porthcawl Museum

The Old Police Station
John St
CF36 3DT

Food & Drink

NP 51WAR_3104


Since 1974, the Museum has been housed in the Old Porthcawl Police Station, John Street, Porthcawl (Built in 1880).

Porthcawl Museum is run by a dedicated group of professional volunteers who work tirelessly in presenting an appreciation of our local heritage, culture and environment through the acquisition, preservation and interpretation of artefacts and associated information relating to the history of Porthcawl.

St John's Well aka Sandford's or de Sanford's Well

Beach Road

Food & Drink


De Sanford, a crusading Knight of the Order of St John of Jerusalem, is one of the possible founders of the church here in late C12. As the successor to Richard de Cardiff he was granted land in Novam Villam (ie Newton) Margan (ie Glamorgan) by William Earl of Gloucester between 1147 and 1183. Newton is registered as having a creek or port in several documents of C16 and this well is situated adjacent to sea road, the port referred to by Leland in 1539 as a 'station or haven for shippes'. Well is described in a poem in Latin by Sir John Stradling of St Donat's Castle printed in Britannia 1607 with translation 1610; this refers specifically to its characteristic of appearing empty when the tide is in and full when tide is out, an effect caused by fissures acting as valves reacting to air pressures: 'For as the Nymph (Severn/Sabrina) doth rise the Spring doth fall. Go she back, he com's on in spite and fight continuall.' Long reputed to have magical and curative properties, a tradition revived by Dr Hartland in 1920s/30s who set up an open air Spa on Newton beach, the stone dispensing slab of which is still in situ. R D Blackmore, author of The Maid of Sker and Lorna Doone, refers to 'the sand coming out of its 'nostrils' when it first begins to flow'. May Day bonfires traditionally lit adjacent to well. Refurbished late 20th century.

St David's Well

Moor Lane


Food & Drink


St David’s Well was first mentioned in a 12th Century grant of William Earl of Gloucester.

The water from the well is reputed to have curative powers and had sanctity bestowed on it during a visit by Wales’ patron saint, St. David.

Margam Castle

Margam Castle
Margam Country Park
Neath Port Talbot
SA13 2TJ
Tel: 01639 881635

Food & Drink



This 19th Century Tudor Gothic Mansion was designed by the architect Thomas Hopper for Christopher Rice Mansel Talbot. The house was built in 1830-40 at a cost of £50,000 using sandstone from nearby Pyle quarry. Listed Grade I as a mansion of exceptional quality, the Castle has some spectacular features such as the vast stairhall and octagonal tower.

St Fagans National History Museum

St Fagans National Museum of History
Tel: 0300 111 2 333

Food & Drink



St Fagan's National Museum of History is Wales' most visited heritage attraction standing in the grounds of the magnificent St Fagans Castle, located on the outskirts of Cardiff.

Welsh Mining Experience

Rhondda Heritage Park
Lewis Merthyr Colliery
Coed Cae Road
CF37 2NP
Tel: 01443 682036

Food & Drink



Welsh Mining Experience at the Rhondda Heritage Park is a MUST to add to your tour Itinerary, where visitors can enjoy a unique experience at an authentic coal mine in the South Wales Valleys. Come along and learn about the International story of Welsh coal and about the people who made it a global business.

Nash Point Lighthouse

Llantwit Major
Vale of Glamorgan
CF61 1ZH

Website: trinityhouse.co.uk/lighthouse-visitor-centres/nash-point-lighthouse-visitors-centre
Email: chris@nashpoint.co.uk
Tel:  01225 245156 / 07850 047721




For 175 years Nash Point Lighthouse, designed by James Walker, the Engineer-in-Chief to Trinity House, has been keeping the mariner safe of Nash Sands, the sandbanks off the point at the entrance to the Bristol Channel.  Nash Point was the last manned lighthouse in Wales, the lighthouse keepers left on 5 August 1998.

Go and see this wonderful lighthouse and the stunning scenery around about it from a new perspective.

Coity Castle

Heol Spencer
CF35 6BG

Food & Drink



Originally founded in the early 12th century, Coity’s remains are a centuries-spanning jumble of architectural styles that reflect its lengthy occupation. Begun as an earthwork castle around AD 1100, the stone keep and curtain wall were late 12th-century additions. Major rebuilding took place in the 14th century and again in the 15th, after Owain Glyndŵr laid siege to the castle during his uprising against English rule. Further modifications were made in the early 16th century, including the addition of a third floor.

Though the castle is now a ruin, remaining features from each era shed light on its long and storied life.

Hut 9 Island Farm Prisoner of War Camp

Bypass Road
CF31 3LG

Food & Drink



Attend one of the regular open days at Hut 9, the only remaining building at Island Farm, a former prisoner of war camp, also called Camp 198, was a prisoner of war camp on the outskirts of the town of Bridgend. It hosted a number of Axis prisoners, mainly German, and was the scene of the largest escape attempt by German POWs in Britain during World War II. Near the end of the war it was renamed Special Camp XI and used to detain many senior SS military leaders who were awaiting extradition to the Nuremberg trials.

Hear host Brett Exton share his personal experiences about the camp, the great escape planned by the campmates and wartime Bridgend then explore Hut 9 with its prehistoric re-enactments.

Scroll to Top